The ascent of the Middle Path

The ascent of the famed Middle Path embraces the traditional Eightfold Way of Purity, which Martinism interprets as follows:
Pure Belief: I rest all my belief upon the One Reality of God. Omneity is the capstone of the symbolic pyramid of the universe: All things, including myself, have their origin and being in Him.
Pure Will: I seek constantly to identify my will with the Divine that I may undo man’s first error and make certain of my own reintegration.
Pure Word: I order the words of my mouth that they may be acceptable in Thy presence, O Lord God of all Creation. If it be Thy will, I may one day speak Thy Sacred and Incommunicable Name!
Pure Behavior: I strive that the actions of my life may conform to the words of my mouth and heart so that charity, mercy, kindness, and forgiveness may abide in my dwelling and may go forth with me into affairs of the day.
Pure Means of Living: I do not defile my spiritual temple by doubtful morality. Pure and honest in heart, I aspire to treat others as I would have them treat me.
Pure Application: I apply myself with unceasing zeal to the higher truths of life. I dwell heart and soul upon the sublime tradition of the Ancient Wisdom.
Pure Memory: Although life comes to me in all its phases, I permit only the loving, constructive, and divine to echo through the vault of memory.
Pure Meditation: Never a day passes but I pause to contemplate and adore the inimitable perfections of God’s living universe. Meditation upon the love and wisdom of God are ever among the chief joys of my life.
Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a comment